A princess in the rain

A miserable day today. I feel sorry for those holiday makers who've booked a Scottish west coast holiday in May, expecting, quite rightly, to see glorious gardens in full spring colour and wonderful scenery in full spring glory. They might see the former today, but not the latter I'm afraid. We watch the cape-enveloped visitors slogging up the road to see the view from McCaig's Tower only to find dark skies and misty mountains!

I've been meaning to collect my tickets from the station for my proposed trip to London on Thursday; I called in yesterday but the place was closed due to staff shortages. (This is just before the morning train was cancelled due to driver illness)

I tried to find out from Customer Services whether the station was open this morning, but eventually gave up. I must have pressed Option 1, thinking it was the right one, but the lady told me I should have pressed Option 3, so I asked her to transfer me. This was not possible! I phoned again to be told there was a waiting list, so donned my waterproofs and walked down to the station. 

It was open, staffed by a rather unfriendly woman who didn't greet me, went through the motions of dealing with the tickets, and passed them over silently. I asked if the seat reservations were included and she merely said that what I'd reserved is what I'd got. I wished her a good afternoon and hoped she'd enjoy the rest of the day. Actually I made that last bit up!

The harbour was dark and dull, the tide was up and the water still. Nothing much was happening so I photographed the 'Hebridean Princess' moored over the other side of the bay against the island of Kerrera. The former car ferry Columba, she's setting off tomorrow for a 7-night cruise 'Wildlife of the Western Isles', a saucy little pleasure cruise from £4,990 per person, including, of course, two Gala Dinners! I did a cruise on her to Gardens of the West Coast a few years ago, but fortunately I was on as a lecturer and didn't have to pay - I didn't get paid either, but they let MrsM on too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.