Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Electrifying Eighteen

I had just about given up all hope of getting "the shot" today when a dainty little Chipping Sparrow showed up late in the afternoon to have a bath.  After a lot of splashing, he landed on a branch and proceeded to fix himself up.  I got a bunch of interesting shots but this was the one I liked the most. You can see his damp feathers but also a glimpse of the rich brown of his wings as well as his dapper rufous cap.  And he represents #18 on my 2022 yardbirds visual list.

I met up with my nature group this morning and did about 3 miles at a wetlands.  Although we saw about 40 species, I just wasn't feeling it.  In fact, I headed back early.  Just one of those days where I feel unsettled - hard to explain but those of you who have experienced it will know what I'm talking about.  

I dropped Jax off at DayCare this morning and by the time I pulled out, he was running and playing with two dogs in the big fenced outdoor area.  He looked like he was having a blast.  And hopefully he got some play time this afternoon too because I would be grateful if he was worn out tonight.

I got a text from KangaZu to say that they've returned from their trip.  I've released 7 beautiful Black Swallowtails for them, including 3 today.  We've arranged to meet up on Thursday for the hand-off of the remaining chrysalids.  Very fun looking after them while Peggy and R were away.  Isn't Blip such a nice place!

Beautiful weather for the rest of the week.  Hoping I find carve out some time to take my kayak out for the first paddle of the year.  

Dark with sea salt today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.