Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Watching You, Watching Us

A working day, I was glad the weather was quite poor this morning, I don't like to be stuck in front of a computer when the weather is good.

Late in the afternoon the weather improved.  L headed to the local leisure centre for a steps class and I popped out looking for an image to post.  I wasn't really expecting to find this.  I was thinking of an image with the large cumulonimbus clouds but as I pulled up I saw a couple of deer in the adjacent field.  It was as I got out of the car that I realised that there was a herd of some 25 deer on the other side of the hedge.

These are truly wild deer, not in anyway habituated to human contact and in nearly all cases the sight of someone nearby will have them turning tail and heading for cover.  However, on this occasion they seemed interested in me and actually came towards me through the crop.  I've only had this happen once before and it was a similar time of year and the group was made up of mainly female and younger male deer.  I wonder if it is a defensive action to protect their young as I'd expect to see some newly born fawns in the group.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.