PARK COTTAGE

Weather was rainy this morning but gradually the rain stopped and it got quite sunny and warm.  I walked down to the village this afternoon to post my parcels.  Long queue in Post Office but I was OK to wait - wasn't in a hurry.

Then I went on a wander to find a blip shot.  The Wide Wednesday challenge today is Architecture.  Thanks to BobsBlips for hosting. I chose Park Cottage as my blip.  Its in School Lane - quite near the old Parochial School I blipped recently.

Park Cottage was originally two cottages built in 1791 for the use of Whickham Park head gardener and coachman. The two buildings were separated by an arch giving access to the coaches.  ( You can just about see the archway around the front door ).  Whickham Park does not refer to the local recreational park but to a nearby large house.  The house still stands but its now been converted to flats and new houses have been built in the grounds. When I was a child I remember Mr and Mrs Oloman living in Park Cottage. He was a plumber and she worked in the local newsagents.  I have always thought that Park Cottage must be a lovely building to live in.

As I walked home it started raining quite heavily but it didn't last long and the rest of the day has been dry.

TV this evening - Eggheads, Repair Shop and Sewing Bee.

Steps today - 9,720

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.