Ballinbreich Castle

Spent much of the day weeding and checking out local shed building firms in Fife.  One in Leven sounds promising so I may visit them tomorrow. Went for a drive in the afternoon.  I looked in at Birnie but still no cygnets.  Drove on to Newburgh and along the Tay. I've photographed Ballinbreich Castle many times but at least this is a different view of it. The castle was built in the 14th century by Clan Leslie, and subsequently rebuilt several times. Much of the present structure is of the16th-century.  Mary, Queen of Scots  stayed at the castle on 23 March 1563 and 26 January 1565.  Like Elizabeth she moved around a lot.  Came home and had my afternoon tea and toast in the arbour accompanied by my garden robin.  I'll have to give him a name.  The feeder I hung is being well used by the look of it.  A couple of great tits were there and later two male siskin playing a game of chases with each other.  Must bring my camera up in future.  I was hoping it might be a good place for bird photography.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.