Ruffled feathers.

Sunshine and showers with a strong wind today.  A collared dove was on the windowsill eating sunflower seeds as fast as it could the minute I put them out and looking very windblown while doing so.  I cuddled up on the sofa with breakfast.  Made a mess of the crossword but redeemed myself with Wordle and Quardle.  Went over to Brigend garden centre to buy a big sack of sunflower seeds and netting to put on the arbour for the jasmine to climb up.  I'll wait for a nice calm day before I putting that in place.  Did some weeding at the front when I came back. had lunch, finished my book then reluctantly began dusting upstairs. I meant to do downstairs as well but there's always tomorrow. In spite of the wind I took my tea and toast and camera up to the arbour.  It's got its back to the prevailing wind so it's sheltered to sit in.  Just as well as the trees with tossing about.  The little ornament Courtney decorated for my Christmas was swinging around  wildly but the bird feeder was in a calmer spot and great tits were using it.  After a while my garden robin turned up. I'm going to call it Rowan.  It means little red one in Gaelic and it fits a boy or girl as it could be either.  Rowan is friendly and comes quite close but is camera shy so I was pleased to get a photo especially as strong gusts of wind made it difficult. Encouraged me to start putting stray bricks and a spare piece of concrete edging into the storage seat.  They will definitely be needed when winter comes. Felt guilty at the front garden getting all the attention so weeded at the back for a while pulling up grasses and sticky willie.  The trouble is one keeps doing another little bit then a little bit more.  Came in and realised I hadn't defrosted anything for dinner.  Duh !    At least I've got eggs so I guess it's time for an omelette.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.