A day in the life

By Shelling

Stillness

I woke up at four o'clock after a dream I can't remember but managed to go back to sleep again. There is a clear difference in my sleeping habits from when I was living in uncertainty of where I was going to live, while the deadline for moving was approaching fast. Then, I rarely slept a single night through without waking up, fretting about my uncertain future. After settling in at my new home, I sleep through the night with few exceptions.

Usually my mornings are used for a long breakfast, then a couple of hours rehearsing, or/and other kind of concentrated activity. My afternoons are for outside activities of a more physical sort, like todays tearing down some broken woodwork on the shed, saving what will be good for reuse. Sometimes errands in town or walks fill the time. My plan is to organise a floor and a roof for the shed quite soon, because I need to move the stuff I have kept stored at my old place until I can fit it in here, mostly tools and things I need to decide about keeping or not. 

The evening was beautiful to look at but freezing cold, only seven degrees. We haven't had any rain since February really, that's why the irrigation of the fields are at work. Strawberries needs to be ready before our midsummer, only four weeks away. Strawberries are an important source of income for many farmers around here, the asparagus, another important crop, is already up and on sale everywhere. Tomorrow we are promised some warmer weather, coming from southern Europe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.