People make mistakes!

I set off on the homeward journey in the rain this morning, after several days of hot, sunny weather in London. 

Unfortunately there were a number of Rangers fans on the London-Glasgow train, presumably on their way back from Seville, making a fair amount of noise and using language quite probably unappreciated by the normal travellers who had little choice but to listen to it all. Two youfs were sitting behind me for the four and a half hour journey, using language of which every other word began with 'f'! What made it worse was that no train staff, except for two collecting rubbish, made an appearance. There were no ticket checks - I could have made the trip free of charge! Not impressed, and Avanti West Coast will be hearing from me! Walking across the concourse at Glasgow Central, I spotted this man with a 'People make mistakes' displayed below his sombrero. Going to Seville to watch his team lose, maybe?

The last stage of the journey, from Glasgow to Oban, was very different. As on the outward journey I had very own space, that normally reserved for wheelchair accompaniers - see extra.  Once Garelochhead was passed and the Clyde left behind, the route takes you into mountainous country, and the section which runs along and above Loch Lomond was particularly good. For mile after mile, the native woods which drop steeply down from the tracks to the Bonny Banks were carpeted with bluebells in the thousands of billions - quite a bit later than down south - as were several places further along the route. I doubt if anyone ever visits these wonderful places, being where there are between the road and the railway. The mountains were blanketed in mist and as we approached Oban the sun burst through the clouds! I thought I was to have a sunny welcome home, then the rain began again! Never mind, it picked the best day for it!

Oh well, not quite the week I would have chosen, and now I'll have to do my best not to infect Mrs M and anyone else I come into contact with!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.