First Light

A clear morning sky
brings the promise of a good
day ahead of us

~ carliewired

I was awake just after 3 AM. Try though I did, I could not get back to sleep. The half moon hung above the city like a slice of an orange. I was out on the deck just after 4 catching that bit of a glow in the east. 

I thought I could get out to Vantage Point near the airport for the sunrise this morning about 5 AM. It is a favourite spot for me because the reflections on the river can be marvelous. 

When I parked by the pergola along the Rivers Trail I could see two people on the beach beside the float plane dock. They were standing around an open fire. Another person walked down the ramp to the float plane dock and seemed to be enjoying whatever music they'd brought with them. I am sure that having a fire there is not permitted. It made me rather nervous. I took my photos quickly and drove away from the park. I stopped along the roadside to call the city's by-law department and had a chat with the dispatcher who answered my call. She agreed that the fire was not acceptable and said she'd send a firetruck right away. I continued on home. The firetruck (no lights or siren) passed me minutes later. 

I'm home enjoying my coffee and thinking about breakfast. I should go in search of some annuals for my planters this afternoon. 

We're in for a sunny day with a high of 23 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.