carliewired

By carliewired

66 F/ 19 C

Some rain, some cloud and
some wind to change up our day -
there's more rain coming!

I was in Riverside Park by 7:15 AM. It's a chilly morning (15 C) compared with what we've had recently. We're getting the weather that Alberta would wish for. 

I walked in beside Heritage House to have a good look at the children's playground that was just officially opened this weekend. The construction fences are completely gone and the landscape around it is looking very nice. This new set of equipment is designed to accommodate those with disabilities. The swings, for example, can allow a child with a wheelchair to use the swing while still in the wheelchair. The ground surfaces have space-age, spongy material to reduce accidents/injuries. 

Right beside the playground is the new and improved waterpark. I was surprised to see the water was flowing that early in the morning. I had it all to myself this morning. I understand that there is still some provision to add an ice skating rink. 

I took a quick look at the river level. There is little space between the river and the bridges and pier. The changes to the Rivers Trail beside the river has greatly reduced the concern for flooding in the park. 

I was home before 8 with my breakfast and coffee. I have another lazy day ahead of me. I hope to spend most of it in my recliner. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.