carliewired

By carliewired

82 F/28 C

A sudden change in
weather brought some rain and grey
skies to our weekend

~carliewired

I woke up to a damp, grey morning. I thought, it being Sunday, I would drive downtown to St. Andrews on the Square. I have been avoiding this location as it has attracted the homeless recently.  

I've blipped this location in the past - here  and here and here.

I parked on the east side of the square and walked into the park with my camera in hand. First thing, I spotted a woman in a red coat sitting on the bench with her back to the church. She seemed to be sorting out her backpack and there was a heap of 'stuff' tossed over a bank of purple iris in the border behind her. I gave her a wide berth as I walked around taking views of the church and the beautiful iris now at their best. 

I walked along the sidewalk to the front steps, then around to the west side. I stopped when I saw two fellows in dark clothing with bicycles in the lane. I walked back to the fountain where the woman was still seated. She tried to tell me she was just cleaning up the square. Indeed, there were rakes and other gardening tools there on the grass. She was busy folding up a small, blue hiker's tent and putting it in a bag. I asked what the 'stuff' was that was draped over the flowers. She said it was hers. It looked like sheets of plastic and a sleeping bag. She began to pull it all together. I walked on with my camera.....best to mind my own business on a Sunday morning.

I was home with my breakfast and a large coffee before 8:30. I think I'm in for the day. Must make some more quilted hearts for next week. My daughter is binding the first quilt for me so my gimpy hands can have a rest. 

Our weather is changing dramatically. This could be the last warm day for a while. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.