Honey

The honey Jon took off the hive 2 weeks ago has today been melted off the frames. It is now in a bucket and as it cools the wax is solidifying on the top. Then Jon will remove the wax and put the lovely honey in jars. Aren't bees clever?

This morning I pricked out a dozen or more pansy seedlings whileisteningvto the Archers. Then did lots of watering. I contacted a man about a caravan but it had sold. The cheap ones have always gone by the time I see them.

Jon and Henry came back from archery and we had a nice coffee in the garden where I discussed the need for extra help on the allotment if I was going to be able to grow all my seedlings. So we made a plan.

The plan was we had a proper allotment work out this afternoon where I was joined by Jon and Henry. Jon had collected all the horse manure from down the lane in his trailer, and after they had dug out the weeds (Dock especially, and thistles like trees!) they spread the manure over and then we covered it with old carpet. It will rot down and be rotavated in for next year. (The manure not the carpet!)

I weeded a bit more round the onions and still have so much to do. I want to cut all the long grass down from inside my fruit cage, so hope to do a bit every evening this week.

Back home Jon cooked the dinner and I cut the grass nextdoor and weeded a bit. Manda and Mum plan to come up next weekend, so we may be able to do some gardening together.

A big pile of ironing done and now relaxing before bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.