Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The test hike!

Today started with the news that Sharon, Mum’s carer, has Covid. (Remember my last holiday when Maureen, our other carer had Covid?!) Thankfully Maureen was able to step in today.

Also hoping that Mum doesn’t get it because there is only one flight a week from Girona to Newcastle.

Keep calm and carry on!

We had a short walk today, only 7 miles, but it was strenuous and hot. Scrambling was required at times. The group functioned magnificently, with the stronger walkers helping the weaker. At one point, where it was very steep, John gave me a hand from above and Bill held both my ankles from below so that I could not slip. Brilliant teamwork.

The views of the mountains are great. My blip is the Salt de Sallant. It has a huge drop. The recent dry spell means that it is almost a trickle.

The wild flowers are overwhelming in their beauty. I had to struggle to find names from the back of my brain. I could not stop for many photos. I did not want to be trailing behind the group and it’s not fair to delay the others.

A pyramidal orchid is the first extra.

The second is the Needle Rock. In the foreground you can see Chris doing his exercises with Bert, our guide, watching intently.

We had a beer in the village (draught Estrella) before tackling the suspension bridge to return to the hotel.

The gin and tonic I drank before dinner was delicious but nearly knocked me off my feet! There are no measures in this hotel!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.