Boys adventure

This morning I turned on my tv….to an empty nest box! They had all fledged as I had suspected. I could hear them all in the surrounding trees and every now and again a young blue tit visited the bird feeder. There is competition now, because yesterday afternoon we had a woodpecker ( greater spotted, I think?) and I wonder if it is the same one we had last year who managed to rear one young on our fat sticks! I don’t know if they come back, but will fill the fat stick holder to encourage them.

Work was quite full on and came with the usual frustrations. I was very glad to finish at 4, but not without it giving me a headache. Jon had loaded the car up, and they were all waiting for Henry to come home from work so that they could set off on their mini adventure. They are on their way to Pateley Bridge to walk the nidderdale way over the next 4 days. They have found a simple campsite where they will set up a base camp. At £15 a night for all 4 of them, they couldn’t do any better. I have heard from them and they are now half way, stopping for some food. They even said the roads are not too bad, so I’m hopeful they will be there by 10.

After they had gone, I did some potting on of my curly kale. I want them to be a little bigger before I plant them out. Lots of watering of everything done, Mollie cooked dinner for 2, as mum had already eaten. We sat in the garden for a while but now I’m on the sofa feeling tired. So it’s tv for me. I have just watched the last of the Long Lost Family which was on last week. Now it’s the repair shop, and then the sewing bee. I don’t plan to move until they have all finished! Then I will head to bed, and plan to enjoy a lie in tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.