pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Opening night

My day finished infinitely better than it started.

The rain was pounding on the roof in the early hours and although I was concerned with the thought that I had left the Velux open a crack which might let the water in, I couldn’t raise myself to check. My mind was whirring with thoughts of…well, everything and I struggled to get back off.

Perfect start for the long day ahead with opening night at the other end of it, but somehow I got through the day and the anticipated wave of tiredness never arrived. I’ll save that for tomorrow.

The children were round, so I shoved some dinner down them before abandoning them with The Eldest and heading off to get into character for opening night...

From where we were just 24 short hours ago, the performance was a significant improvement on the dress rehearsal. Annoyingly, I have to fess up to taking a prompt (but I also stopped someone else getting one, so I’m calling it even) and there were a couple of minor stumbles, but I am led to believe that most of the audience were happy with what they saw.

At the close I was buzzing with adrenalin at the relief of having got the opening night completed with no disasters (apart from a splat pack drenching the wrong person - whoops!) and just as I was about to get changed, I was informed that “Sheilwill is out front and asking for you”!

I couldn’t believe it!! I finally got to meet this lovely lady who has been so kind and supportive of my blip over the last couple of years and now here she was in the flesh, and if you’ve only read one of her journals, I can tell you that she was every bit as lovely as you might expect. I’m only sorry that we didn’t have more time to talk.

So this blip is for sheilwill and to say thank you for coming to see our little play and making my day!

Oh, and no, you can’t have a refund. ;-)

Photo credit to: ayearinthelife 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.