Allotment fun!

I have spent 2 hours this evening on my allotment and I can't think of a better way to spend an evening. I didn't need the radio as the yellow hammers were singing their little hearts out. Jon teaches me about nature stuff, and they sing 'little bit a bread an no cheeeeese'. I always see lots in the hedgerows in the village. So this evening, piled high on my bike with plants, I set out for my happy place. Once there, I was on a mission. I planted my 8 curly kale plants, and 24 small spinach beet. I put them quite close together, but I'm sure they will grow. I secured a net cage over them to stop them from being eaten. I also had some sunflowers and a few hollyhocks grown from seed, which I planted into my wild flower patch. Incidentally I was quite excited to find an ox eye daisy today which must have been in one of my seed bombs. This year's teasels are coming up, but some of last years are still hanging on.

I watered everything which took ages, then when watering my strawberries was excited to find 8 red ones! So enough for me I think :-)

The rest of my day was the usual Thursday stuff. Shopping early, then home to rush about putting it away, before a happy 2 hours singing and chatting. After lunch I did some cleaning next door. I had planned to just hoover, but 3 hours later was giving it a good going over, and hopefully when mum next visits, it will feel comfortable for her. Henry cut the grass so in all it is looking tidy. Went in my loft to get a suitcase for the holiday and packed my bag. I had to put quite a few clothes back in my drawers!

Now we are watching 'Who do you think you are' on catch up - because I was so late getting back from my gardening it had already been on 20 minutes. The light evening threw me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.