A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Blooming beautifully in Bruges.

I’ve had a lovely day in Bruges, I say I as Chris got up for breakfast and then went back to bed! Think he’s got the cold that took my voice!

A shame but we have visited Bruges several times and I could go with the group.

We took the train which takes over an hour from Brussels Central railway. When we arrived we visited an Artisan Chocolaterie. Another thing of course that Belgium is very famous for is chocolate. There are chocolate shops everywhere along with other sweet treats, especially macarons and waffles or gauffres.  

We were told there are actually only two Artisan chocolate makers in Bruges all the others are branded and manufactured.
It was very interesting and of course we got a taster!
Then there was a walking tour which not everyone did but I like to find out more about a place even if I’ve been before.

The canals and houses are of course a delight and even more so when enhanced by lovely plantings on the bridges like these in the blip.

Had my lunch in the market square in a cafe the walking guide recommend as being used but the locals and then wandered up the main shopping street. I bumped into various folk  and spent a bit of time with them on my way but wanted to go back to the street with the chocolatier was as they had a tea shop opposite, I went in for an afternoon coffee and cake and you get free chocolates with your drink! Extra 1 
Met some others in there and stopped with them for a while. Having WiFi’s I contacted Chris who’d been up and into town for a beer and a sandwich.

The Chocolate shop has a particular speciality which is a chocolate bar with an edible scene of Bruges on it, something he showed us how they made - extra 

Back this evening Chris had returned to bed but we have been out into town again to the Drug Opera for dinner and then a walk around the Grande Place. All very busy being Friday night.
We even made it to the Mannequin Pis who was dressed in hospital wear. There was a schedule on the railings of what he will be wearing throughout June!
Hopefully Chris will make it out tomorrow as it’s what we came for!


Sorry I’ll just be sprinkling a few stars tonight as it is up early in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.