Common Blue Damselfly

Work last night was really hard! Many of the customers were a bit crotchety and  few times we had to wait for things to cook. This is partly because there were very long spells with no customers at all, meaning that it would be a waste to cook too much and have to throw it away if it dried out and was no longer good. 

These spells were interspersed with shorter spells during which enough customers to fill a coach would all turn up at the same time, thus ensuring we ran out of things quickly. 

I did OK earlier on as there was little to do during the quiet spells, but later things evened out a bit and there was cleaning to do between customers. A tradesman came to put some decorative transfers onto the windows. These feature fancy shots of the type of food we sell, opening times and a "Welcome to Regal" sign. 

I noticed that our opening hours have been extended by an hour each night. Watan noticed too. We mutually agreed to pretend we hadn't, and when the boss turned up, he did not mention it. He did mention that I still did not look right. (I probably did look like a zombie by that point!) He was surprised I had gone in and told me to stay at home tonight and go tomorrow. That is fine by me!

I also found out that our colleague, Masood has quit due to not being able to arrange his hours so he finishes at 10PM every night. So I may be in for extra shifts next week. I hope someone new is trained up before our holiday in July!

This morning I was quite keen to get up to watch last nights Superleague featuring Salford v Wigan. It was quite even in the first half and we went in 6 up at half time. Second half we blew them away, going 30 - 0 up before disappointingly letting them get two converted tries in the last few minutes. 

Still - it is a good two points on the table and puts Wigan into second place before tonight's game between Hull and Catalans. Normally I'd cheer on the Dragons in that one, but maybe not tonight in the circumstances.

I hope we will be able to watch it as our Sky box is playing up. Bri has tried rebooting it and it is still a problem My concern is that it is due to the wind blowing the tree opposite and causing it to block the satellite signal. 

Our dish has to be up on the chimney rather than on a wall due to that tree anyway. It required the Special Heights Team being called in when it was fitted and needed repairing. The dish cannot realistically go any higher up, so it will either be a question of trying to persuade the city council to prune the tree or going onto Sky Glass which would mean that if the internet went down the TV would likely go with it!

Anyhoo, this afternoon Bri took me out for some fresh air. I wanted to go where there was a lake, trees and not too much yomping! So we headed to Boultham Park. There were hundreds of these common blue damselflies there and I took the chance to get a photo of one. There's an extra of a ladybird - I chose the damselfly as the main as it is the one that's hardest to get shots of.

What is the name of the common weed it is on? I really like this stuff!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.