Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Orchid

It was very windy today and I was not sure that Julie and I should go for our planned walk. As it was, the wind was not too bad in Acomb Woods and we were quite sheltered for our ramble.

Half way around the usual circuit, Julie produced a page from today’s i newspaper with the general  knowledge crossword. We found two stones to sit on by the river and attempted to fill in a few clues. Julie had already done quite a lot and I managed a few more, but things like the names of pop songs (from whatever era) stumped us.

This orchid was just beside where we sat and if the only photo I took today. There are a lot of common spotted orchids in Acomb Woods, but they are coming to the end of their flowering time now.

Margret (next door) was here when we came home so we had tea/coffee and a chat.

Tonight I'm catching up on Sherwood. I just can't believe how many well known actors are in it! It's a bit disconcerting.

Tomorrow I'll be walking with Jamjar who is walking Hadrian's Wall Trail from west to east. Expect to see photos of our time together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.