Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Hexham Day of Song

Today the Tynedale Community Choir celebrated their 20th anniversary year. They organised a day of song in Hexham with workshops, a concert and various community choirs singing outside in the town centre.

It was very windy, but lovely and sunny. Hexham was packed with visitors and locals.

My blip is taken from the start of the day when we had a vocal warmup in the Queens Hall. I just love the shapes of all the hands.

Later, I sang Elizabethan madrigals and wished I could do that more often. Sarah Robinson was a delightful leader.

I popped home to give Mum lunch, hoping against hope that I would find a parking space on my return. The number of all day parking spaces has been drastically reduced. I was lucky, although I had to climb out of the passenger door!

This afternoon, I sang Scottish songs in a group of 10 with the excellent David Burbidge of Lakeland Voices. David led one of our early singing walks in the Haltwhistle Walking Festival and it was good to see him again. My extra is his delightful assistance dog, 9 years old yesterday. 

We all went to Hexham Abbey to sing to each other. The variety of styles of songs was amazing. I came home after this, but there was a concert tonight too.

The heavens had opened when it was time to walk to my car. I had no coat and no umbrella. I just made myself go: it was my second shower of the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.