Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Serenity?

Anything but!

I had a restless night with little sleep. I could not hear the music from the pop concert but I did hear people returning to the hotel until well after 2 am. The door was beside my bedroom window.

The double room was beautifully furnished but much too hot and stuffy. The ceiling fan did not help.

Oddly enough I was in Room 101!! Hilarious or what?

I was able to move to 204 later in the morning. Not ideal to have to pack near the end of the holiday but I am now in a much smaller single bedroom where I can breathe.

Torshavn was very quiet today, with few businesses open on a Sunday. I pottered around the harbour, then had lunch.

Salmon and avocado in a bagel sounded good. My Faroese did not stretch to the fact that the bagel contained red chilli. Just a bit hot for me!

Then I joined a boat trip on the Serenity to visit a nearby puffin island. It was grey as we started and the sea was soon soaking us over the prow. It took a while to realise it was raining.

All self respecting birds were on their nests or down their burrows. Occasionally we saw puffins racing by, like little wind up toys. A couple of fulmars followed the boat for a while.

Photography was impossible. When the engine cut out to allow us to look at birds on the cliff face, the motion of the boat made me queasy.

All in all, not a very serene day.

This statue, The Seated Man, is outside a café. The Icelandic sculptor is called Steinunn Thorarinsdottir. She has made a lot of sculptures using androgynous figures like this one. I saw him as I walked back to my hotel in a cold and bedraggled state.

My extra is in the harbour. Mono seems appropriate for both.

I had a good Italian meal out with Alun. The alternative was a Thai takeaway with Elina and Sally from Hong Kong. They love chilli…..

It’s been one of those “interesting” days. You have to laugh.

PS I backblipped for yesterday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.