Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The smallest capital city in the world

After yesterday's grey and wet day, today was sunny and fine. I had time to explore the dock area; not far from our hotel.

The reflections were very clear, so I spent some time playing with those.

Then I walked to  the lighthouse and took the view of the town from there.

I was back in good time for the taxi. Alun and I had a bagel lunch in the café next door to our hotel. We had a smooth ride to the airport.

Any tranquillity was then shattered. It's a small airport but had 3 or 4 flights going off near to each other.  It was packed. There were no adequate instructions about which of 2 gates to use for boarding.

The flight was smooth. Arriving in Edinburgh was another shock to the system. Border control was very slow indeed. We were in a queue that went on for a long time. Eventually I was through and found my case.

Then I could not find the bus to the parking. The signage was terrible. I walked a long way to find I had to return to the main building and go out in another direction.

I was home by 8.30pm. Mum had a fall while I was away. It's a really nasty gash on her right arm. The worst she had had. I've washed it and removed all the Steristrips (they were holding nothing together). 

So life returns to normal. I can certainly recommended this trip I've been on. The tutor was first class and the scenery and birds were great too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.