Surprise

On several counts. First, I think most people would be surprised to know that this was taken on the balcony (so continues the alternating between building site and balcony). Second, I didn’t really expect to blip a balcony garden photograph today, as we went out this morning to meet meles at the market, and had a coffee and a good blether with her and Mel (and Sassy the dog) for a good while. But nothing caught my eye whilst I was out, even though we had a good walk to start with, down Constitution Street, along the front and over the blue bridge. We picked up a few necessaries at the market, including some gooseberries which I hope Mr A is going to treat “foolishly” (that will be a treat).

Anyway, back to the photograph… I had noticed a couple of weeks ago that a number of spiders webs were appearing on some of the plants. That’s fine. I’m happy for them to be there, so long as the spiders observe the bargain. If they come inside, they’ll be instantly flattened. It rained a fair bit overnight, which will surely be good for the plants even though I water them regularly, and as it was sunny first thing I noticed this lovely almost hidden view of one of the webs with water droplets. I took a fair few shots, but this was the first one and the one I preferred. There is another very tightly woven web, with a big dark hole in the centre. Goodness knows what’s lurking at the bottom of there. It got a bit damaged in the weather overnight, so I will see whether it gets reconstructed and if so I may blip that too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.