Potty in Sheringham

We slept later than planned, so were late getting to Sheringham, but we caught the end of the parade. The annual Potty Festival in Sheringham brings together many Morris and Molly dancers, and other similar groups, from around the country. They spend the weekend dancing in the town. We wandered through the high street stopping to watch each group dance. They all look so different, and their dances differ too. They all look so happy as they dance, you can tell they enjoy it. It is such catchy music, you can't help but tap your feet. We did wonder how long the groups will continue as the age range is generally near to or post retirement, and they all have an older person playing the accordion. I wonder how many young people learn that instrument now.

We made our way to the seafront where we got coffee and waffles (Jon) and a lemon and sugar crepe (me). Henry was sensible and just wanted a coffee, but Jon and I are on holiday. We decided we are, from now on, always on holiday. We just have to work while on holiday Monday to Friday! Lol.

The afternoon was spent doing garden jobs. Henry did the grass nextdoor, then Jon and H together worked on a pew we had bought a few years ago. They made two ends for it, shaped and fixed on. It now just needs rubbing down a bit and varnishing. It is to go on our patio.

I did a bit of tidying indoors, but I'm just not very good at it, so it was best to leave it to Jon. I went up to the allotment where I picked lots of raspberries and a few broad beans, then weeded my French beans and sweetcorn. There are so many weeds again, so I am going to try and get down there after work this week to do a bit each day.

Jon cooked tea, good old bacon and eggs. Then we watched an old Dad's Army film, made in 1971. We hadn't seen it before, and you can't beat Dad's Army!

Now I'm off to bed to read my book!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.