Into the second day

We finished our two day meeting pretty early this morning. It was important, I guess, that it stretched across two days. Well, it's done, and I didn't get into a panic with loads of things arriving in my inbox that I couldn't deal with, although I put on a precautionary out of office message.

Elsewhere in what was previously my academic life, I've been seeing pictures on social media over the last few weeks of people in happy places at conferences I used to go to....I do sometimes have to mourn the passing of my academic career.... Meanwhile, I press on, and try to stay ahead of the curve - that is, the wave that would swamp me if I ever stopped for a moment.

That said, I spent a bit of time this afternoon editing a joint authored paper that is almost finished, which was quite relaxing. And then after sitting out for a bit after dinner on one of the first occasions when this has been possible, we watched a bit of TV.

This is the corner of the balcony that I called "colour corner" last year. It's even more colourful this year. In the distance, it's possible to see the little bit of new insta-colour I got at the supermarket at the weekend: a sunflower, ready grown. Only one flower out now, but hopefully quite a few to come, if it behaves itself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.