Gleann Dubh reservoir

The weather this morning was not terribly promising, but we set off regardless for a walk through Glen Dubh up to the reservoir. The glen itself was very colourful with the vibrant greens of grass, mosses, lichen and trees, the purples of the foxgloves and clover, and the yellow of buttercups. At the reservoir, however, everything was grey, as can be seen in my blip (which is not in mono). We were fascinated by the water pouring down th reservoir's 'plug hole'. The route back to the car park took us along the burn and several dramatic waterfalls.

After our walk, we stopped at the Ben Lora café for soup and hot chocolate for lunch. Like  so many of the other places that we have visited this holiday, the café has reduced opening hours due to staff shortages.

We heard some family news over the course of the day. The sad news is that my Auntie Lyn has died. My sisters and I call her 'auntie' but she is not our aunt. She was a childhood friend of my mother, and my father's second cousin (and thus my second cousin once removed). She is important to the story of my family because it was at a party at Lyn's house attended by her friend (my mother) and cousin (my father) that my parents first met aged 14 and 15.

The other family news was happier. A member of the extended Lloyd/Weston family contacted me having come across my work on Lorna Lloyd. She had lots of information to share, including the sorry tale of one of Lorna's cousins who committed suicide by drinking weedkiller. After our phone call, she sent me the transcript of her mother Dawn's (short) war diary. (Dawn features a couple of times in the LornaL journal, for example in the family photo that I posted on 27th May 2020).

This evening we ate at the Pierhouse in Port Appin. We were last there on 1st August last year for lunch.

Just before bedtime we watched the fox cubs who visit the garden of our bed and breakfast most evenings. We managed to capture a couple of shots of them from a distance in the dusk: see the extra.

The political shenanigans of the day have also kept us well entertained. Bye bye Boris.

Exercise today: walking (9163 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.