A visiting friend

I woke early thanks to Ralph. He came in through the bathroom window at around 5, then woke me again before 7. So much for my lie in! On a positive note, it meant I could get a head start on the cleaning jobs. That is, after I had made Jon and I a cup of tea.

The weather was quite overcast most of the morning. Jon left for his weekend in Newmarket at 8ish and after I had got the washing out, and washing up done, I cycled up to the allotment. A very quick visit. On my way home I stopped to chat to an old man up the road, who knows everything and everyone in the village. He didn't have much gossip.

I was back home just after 9 and then had my breakfast, and did kitchen cleaning while talking to mum on Facetime. Then mopped floor, hoovered all of downstairs in time for the lady to come and look at the cabinet I've been trying to shift. I am pleased she is going to have it for her kitchen, it's good to know it will be going to a good home to be loved in a kitchen again.

I had a spell in the loft - now that the wasps have gone- getting side tracked with my box of memories. I found my clackers - see extra photo. For my friend Karen in Linton. They are pink - but I definitely had a green set before these. We all had a go at 'clacking'. Lol.

Around 4 o'clock I got a visit from my old Cambridge work colleague Thomas who still works for Cambs CC. Thomas is have a walking weekend in Norfolk and by chance is staying in Sustead. We had a bit of catching up to do, although Thomas doesn't have as much contact with ex pensions colleagues as I do, because he isn't on any social media. We sat in the garden, in the shade, drinking tea and chatting. It was nice to relax for a couple of hours.

Thomas left about 6, heading to the next village of Sustead for his accomodation. Mollie cooked fajitas for tea, and now we (Mollie, Henry and I) are planning an evening of playing board games, with James Bond (Sean Connery) as background sound. We are thinking Boggle, Qwixxand Querkle!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.