HIDDEN GEM IN NEWCASTLE

I got the bus to Newcastle this afternoon.  The weather was a lot cooler and there were a few times when it started to rain but only for a couple of mins at a time.

I had shopping to do but first I headed off to Grainger Town to get my blip shot.  I recently saw a photo of this building in the online version of our local newspaper.  It was a building I had never seen before so I decided to seek it out.  I had no idea where it was as I didn't recognise the street name mentioned.  So I Googled and followed the directions this afternoon. 

No wonder I hadn't noticed it before - its really hidden away behind the main street with modern buildings all around it.  Its the former depot and offices of the Western Dairy Company - the date on the building is 1919. Its now a residential building.  Its great that this old building was saved and made use of instead of knocking it down when all the new buildings went up all around it.

After getting my blip shot I walked back towards the shops and got what I needed.  Then it was time to catch the bus home.  The bus that was due was 20 mins late.  In fact it arrived at the same time as the next bus on the timetable.   So only one bus accepted passengers and the other one moved off empty.  

Today was the anniversary of the day my Mam died - in 1981 aged 56. Her birthday was on 26th June and she had a stroke on that day and never recovered.  Never got to wear the cardigan and pair of slippers I had bought her as birthday gifts.  Sad times. My youngest brother was only 17. Still miss my Mam and think of her often.

Steps today - 8,436

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.