Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

From our garden

Dick always plants a few sweet pea plants amongst our roses. Last year, by chance, the only colours were dark purple and white. This year, I'm delighted to see this wonderful mixture of hues. They are doing very well and I'm keeping them well watered.

We have struggled with the heat today. Despite my best efforts the house temperature rose steadily. Downstairs was much cooler than upstairs, but, even so, Mum became uncomfortably hot.

I managed to move her into the one cool(er) room which is a tiny, spare bedroom and north facing. The sun never reaches the windows. She was able to rest on the bed with a fan on and iced water in front of it.  

I could not face cooking - the upstairs kitchen faces south and east, so was far too hot before switching on the oven. I made myself a large, cold salad and enjoyed every bite. 

The garden is slightly cooler this evening and I have enjoyed watering the tubs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.