Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

In praise of the independent bookseller

Tonight I went to our independent cinema to see the National Theatre Live Streaming of Prima Facie starring Jodie Comer. I knew it was about a lawyer.

I had no idea it was a one person show. Jodie Comer was amazing. The script was excellent. It was hard work to watch and miss nothing, but also well worth it. I did not see anyone nodding off!

The intelligent, slick defence lawyer, from a very humble background, showed how she works to defeat witnesses. When she is raped, by another barrister, the question of consent and the way the judicial system deals with victims of sexual assault is laid bare. (I'm glad to say that she survived, but it was an emotional roller coaster for us all.)

Outside, it was still light and I walked from the Market Place to our lovely independent bookshop nearby. It is run by Clare, who is enthusiastic and energetic. I found a display about diaries (and more).

Earlier in the day I was at home, glad of the lower temperatures. I made a sauce for the pasta we had for our evening meal. That was very tasty (although Mum noted that the pasta was almost tasteless!) I also made a savoury mince for tomorrow night. 

The temperature of 21.5 in our hall is just perfect!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.