Capital adventures

By marchmont

Tanjung Tuan, Cape Rachado lighthouse

There was a big storm with lightning during the night. I got up about 1 a.m. to feel the rain.  We all got up just after 7 and were on the beach by 8.30 a.m. It was about midway between our Airbnb and the main town of Port Dickson.  

Port Dickson is a port (no!)! It has two refineries so there is much tanker traffic.  It is also on a strategic point on the Straits of Malacca and over the water is Indonesia.  We were on Pantai Saujana (Scholar's Beach) which is on a large sandy bay with very shallow water.  It was possible to walk out for ages before there was anything like deep water.  Very safe for the girls. We were all in the water and the girls (and me) built sandcastles.  There were a lot of families, including people camping.  But I think WH and I were the only women on the beach in western swimsuits, the other being Muslim in long sleeves, trousers and tudong. There are also signs saying no alcohol and no holding hands.  Neither affected me!

We left just after 11 and raced back to be showered and out of the house by 12 (well 12.08).  Then we drove into Melaka state to visit Tanjun Tuan and the Cape Rochardo lighthouse.  This has been a defensive position since the Portuguese arrived in Malacca but the current lighthouse was built by the British in 1863. It was a long, hot climb up in the middle of the day and you couldn't see much from the headland because of the height of the trees but it built up my steps.

We then headed back to Port Dickson (PD) Waterfront for lunch - fish.  I even had the sotong (calamari) and I'm glad I did. After lunch I spotted big bubbles and bough the girls a RM5 bowl.  Along with it came wands of various types for making bubbles, gig, small, enormous.  A lot of kids were doing it and the girls really enjoyed it.  That was followed by ridiculously huge shaved ice Japanese style desserts, 3 and 5 spoons.

WH drove back.  It took ages due to traffic and more heavy rain.  I enjoyed the family time away, especially the lack of tv!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.