Mayburgh Direttissima?

"A direttissima is a climbing term meaning a direct climb to the summit of a mountain up the fall line from the valley base to the top."

As may have been predicted, on account of its age, The Wagon failed its MoT test.  Today I took it up for the rqd. work to be done.  For the first time, almost since for ever, he didn't bring me home.  NO problem, I've got my wrinkly Pass I'll bus it.
Result:-
Stick-less hobble up Lark Lane - 15-20 min. wait for bus - 45 min drive around town, via all housing estates - panic-stricken cry as we whizzed past the bottom of Mayburgh - stopping a generous 50 yds/m past the bottom - a Direttissima assault upon Mayburgh Avenue and home 75 mins after leaving Garage.  I had a goodly choice of shots, but chose this as I Emulated that Bee and sat on a wall at the point where hellish flattens out to steepish. NO I did not say "Buzz", it was much more "Picture skew" than that.

For an indication of "hellish" Vs. steep - yonder "Chelsea Tractor" was stopped with, probably, the Handbrake either full on or broken since the front wheels were turn so it rested hard up to, and deformed by the Kerb AND with a sturdy, metal, Wedge under the back wheel.
(:¬ o)
I was within sight of next-door when I was kindly offered a lift, which, due to my goal being in sight I reluctantly decline, with copious thanks for the offer.

I, rashly, loaded a step tracker onto my phone a while ago.  A bit stoopid considering I don't cart it around the house with me.  Today it's reading an all-time record of 892 steps≈61km≈35 cal≈7 mins.  Took longer than that just to get Garage to bus-stop, let alone the Direttissima.

B T W - don't look too closely, you'll see the shadow of one of the Poles I eradicated.



3906

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.