McArthur Island Morning

After the evening
thunderstorm, there are very
big puddles to jump!

~carliewired

Last evening's thunderstorm was a real humdinger! The wind blew the trees around, hail pinged on the skylights and rain bucketed down. The air temperature dropped from 35 C to 21 C in less than two hours. When the storm subsided, I opened the doors and windows and shut off the A/C.

This morning's sunrise had a concentrated glow of colour. I got my first photo on the deck at 5:30, finished my coffee and was out the door at 6 heading for McArthur Island. 

I got a shot of the sun over the slough. It was almost too bright to see my mountains with the glare. I found a deer grazing near the north entrance. Ducks were on the slough and Canada geese were on the river.
I found only 4 marmots this morning. One had wet fur. What happened to him? I got a photo across the river to the downtown. It was a very quiet and cool morning. The air felt very fresh. 

I was back home by 7 with my breakfast in hand. We will be working on a small quilt today. I have no plans to leave the house as the day heats up again.

The forecast is for a sunny day with a high of 34 C and the risk of a thunderstorm again today.

On a sad note, the man who went missing in the Thompson River on July 30 has been found in the river near the airport. He was a doctor from Vernon, BC, who had gone into the river to save his son. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.