Views From Mission Flats

More puddles, more haze,
another thunderstorm to
remind us who's boss

Thunder rattled the house after dark last evening. I could open doors and windows and shut off the A/C as the city cooled down again. A fresh wind blew the heat out of the house. All was calm when I went to bed at 10:30.

This morning is a bright one. I woke up at 6:30 to my house filled with light. Local smoke is giving us some haze, especially when I look into the sunshine. 

I drove off to Mission Flats just before 7. The city was waking up. There was a great deal of traffic on Mission Flats again this morning. It was all trucks so I assume it's pipeline business. I drove to the end of the road to escape it all. 

I took a series of shots looking over the river to make a panorama of the view of the lake's edge to the airport. I turned the car around to head east back into town. I caught a long shot of an eagle perched over the river. I could only hope that it would remain long enough for me to get a closer view. There it was, in all its glory when I stopped alongside! 

I stopped further down the road where I'd found the stolen car. Sandbars are reappearing as the river level drops. I got a hazy view of my mountains looking east. 

My last stop was across from Rabbit Island where I can see my mountains with a huge band of cloud coming over from the south. I could see small thunderheads on the horizon to the north. I think we're in for more thunderstorm activity. 

I was home by 8. I'll be working on this quilt we have in progress. No plans for anything else. 

We have a mainly sunny day with a high of 29 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.