Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Judging the sheep

I was off early this morning to be at Slaley Show before the crowds arrived.

Humshaugh and Hexham were both in thick mist, but as I ascended the road to Slaley, I popped out into the sunshine.

The first part of the morning was a comfortable temperature and I found myself ensconced in the centre of a show jumping ring. One of the stewards saw my camera and asked permission for me to be there. I could not refuse the honour.

I stood beside jump 4 and eventually sat on the ground. It is a slow process getting a class of young children, their ponies and their carers together to be led around the "jumps" Later, the jumps were raised a little and it became more interesting.

The light was terrible for photography. It was so bright that blown highlights and dark shadows formed everywhere. I know it is a challenge, but it was tough.

Later I tried to photograph the sheep judging. This was another challenge because the judging took place in the middle of pens and I could not get near. I like the one I've chosen for my blip with the interaction between humans and sheep.

I have added one from the fancy dress bicycle event. This Dad had adapted a bike to be like a Spitfire. The older child, on the small bike behind was pedalling like mad (although it made no difference to the forward trajectory). The younger child appears to be navigating. Priceless.

I consumed a hot pork sandwich at lunchtime, rehydrated with a can of cider, an ice cold coffee and a bottle of water and enjoyed an icecream. I escaped when I knew I could not cope with any more heat!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.