Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The birthday surprise

Some of you can't wait to know what the birthday surprises will be for Mum. I can tell you that the band of the Grenadier Guards will not be playing at the party. A small cohort (pictured) came north today for a recce. They said that the field was much too uneven and they could not march and play as they usually do.

You will have to wait now until September 5th to find out.

I went to Hexham this morning. The traffic was terrible, through the major roadworks and in town. I'm not used to this. It took me ages to get to the pet shop, to find they did not have the cat litter I wanted, then to Waitrose to find that they no longer hire glasses. I wanted advice on champagne and non-alcoholic fizz.

My car and I made slow progress back to the pet shop so I could go to Majestic Wines. They do  hire out glasses so I bought the booze there. They were not so hot on non alcoholic fizz, unless I bought the one where the alcohol had been removed. (Not much point in my book.)

Then to Aldi for my main shop.

It took ages to drive home. When I arrived Liz was visiting, Catherine was ironing, Mum needed eye drops and ointment and I was due in a Zoom meeting about the Festival first aid training in 3 minutes.

I did the necessary, logged in then went to make tea. It was a productive meeting. We need to set dates for training and agree on content. No challenges there then.......

Saw Margret next door and had Facetime with Julie.

Time for bed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.