FUN TIMES AFTER MIDNIGHT

It was 24 mins past midnight when my Whatsapp message app " pinged ".  It was Al - one of my neighbours  - messaging via The Close Whatsapp Group.  As you can see he had just received a worrying phone call from the Water Board.  I hadn't had a call myself so I checked the website which said there were no problems.  Got back to Al and told him this.  He messaged back.  He had received another call from the Water Board - water will be off for 72 hrs.  I was beginning to think this was all very strange.  The Water Board don't usually phone individual customers.  Anyway next message from Al was to say the whole thing was a prank by his daughter.  He had finally " twigged ".  And felt like an idiot.  She had fooled her Dad good and proper.  Hope he's thinking of a way to get back at her. As I haven't taken any photos today I decided to make a collage of the messages for a Silly Saturday blip.

Today I have mostly been ironing, listening to the footie on the radio and watching TV.  Bit too hot to iron really but I stood near the open patio door and it wasn't too bad.  Must say Im pleased I bought a fly screen,  Since I put it up I haven't had one flying insect in the house.  I hate having flies around especially as there's always plates of cat food in the kitchen to attract them.

Newcastle United were playing away at Brighton.  Final score 0 - 0.  Brighton were the better side so a draw was a good result for The Toon.  Our defence played well - especially our goalie who made two excellent saves.

I had a bit of a panic this morning when I read an e mail from LNER. I had assumed my trains to Sussex on 18th would not be running due to the rail strike .... now I was being told that the Newcastle to Kings Cross train I was booked on would be running.  One of the few that are.   Of course Ive already swapped my plans to travel on 17th.  Which I still want to do as even if LNER can get me to London on 18th Im not sure if Thameslink are running a service to get me to Sussex.  But then I wondered if my ticket would be valid on 17th now that my train was running on the 18th and not cancelled.  So I got on to the LNER website Live Chat.  Bit of a wait to get through as it was busy.  But when I did " speak " to someone they said it was fine to use my ticket on 17th. Whew!.

Steps today - 4,391

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.