Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

In support of Ukraine

It's been a funny old day. I'm still not feeling too good - my head is full of cotton wool!  

This morning I sat down to pay bills on the computer. I use online banking and pay most bills by BACS using a pin entry machine. All was going well until I was about to pay the oil bill. The pin entry complained that the battery was low and switched off.

No problem, just unscrew the back and replace battery. After much fiddling with different screwdrivers it was obvious that the teeny, tiny screw was not going to budge.

Consequently I was in the bank after lunch. It was a bit like the Marie Celeste and  there were chairs for queuing, unless you wanted to pay cash. The woman ahead of me looked unwell and started to tell me the story of her broken back and recent fall. It was all too much.

I was able to go to the teller in the cash section to pay my bill. She found a new pin entry machine for me and set up my bank app on my iPhone (something I have resisted using). Apparently we will all be banking that way soon!!

I popped into the Abbey for my blip. The board of blue and yellow is covered in post it notes of prayers or messages to Ukraine.

I like the fact that when you photograph one arch in the abbey, it leads your eye to others. You can see the sleeping figures on a grave through to the right and an eagle lectern in the distance. It's a wonderful building.

I did a quick supermarket shop and was only just in time for my 4th B12 jab at Wark.

This evening I've set up Margret's printer/scanner to scan to the computer. It needed extra software to do this. It's more complicated than it needs to be of course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.