An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

There's a change a comin'...

Backblip

Oh dear, I was last up.  But only because I wanted to make sure there was enough hot water for everyone's showers that's my excuse and I am sticking to it

Museli, toast and fresh summer fruit for breakfast whilst John told us that Norma had gotten up at 3am to go to the loo, or so he thought, but when he heard the shower running and he asked her what she was doing, she replied rather indignantly, "I'm getting ready for my hospital appointment this morning and you better get a shift on too, we've to be there for 10am!"  

Apparently it took him five minutes to convince her that she must have been dreaming and that her appointment isn't till Thursday and to "turn the shower off and get back to bed you silly moo!"    She said that's the last time she's drinking brandy!  hahahahahaha! 

Once they'd gone I went to the studio to get organised for the paintings I have to do next week.  I had planned to crochet more of Nikki's bed throw this afternoon, but once I'd got my paper and paints and brushes sorted, I couldn't resist getting started and ended up painting three paintings.  Well two completed paintings and one still to be doodled on, so that was a good start.

It was another beautiful blue sky, sunny day but the weather forecast said rain and thunderstorms would be arriving in the evening and sure enough, just after 6pm the atmosphere changed and I could smell rain.  Time to head out with the camera to try and get a decent blip for once!

My trusty chauffeur got the car and we headed towards Crieff on the back roads.  I had a particular field I wanted to go to in the hope the hay bales would still be there as I had a vision of photographing lovely ochre hay bales against a brooding sky, but alas they were gone and the field was completely bare.  This was the best I could do.  I blame hunger.  We were both impatient to get home and have dinner.

For some reason on the way home I started singing a Patsy Cline song that I haven't heard in years, probably since I was 13.  My aunt had a Patsy Cline album and this was on it. I think looking for hay bales and the fact we'd been talking about our god-daughter's wedding (it's next year) earlier and I'd suggested that if we were getting married now (at the age we were then :-) I would prefer a barn dance instead to a traditional wedding reception :-))

Anyway who knows how our minds work, all I know is I unexpectedly (for us both) launched into a song I haven't heard in decades, remembering every word (and the yodely bits) AND I hit the high note at the end! D's face was a picture!  :-))

I thank you :-)

PS I was still awake at 4am watching the storm.  Wonderful :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.