Let There Be Light.

I overslept this morning and it was 9.30 when I woke up! I had not intended to sleep so late as I was going out for lunch with Jeri and had things I needed to do before getting ready. Not much got done, but there's always tomorrow!

I had more time than I thought, as I left the house half an hour earlier than I needed to to meet Jeri at the station. (The boys are at their Dad's for a week so it was just her!) It was no hardship sitting outside the station, people watching and listening to music in the sunshine.

We decided to go to House of Pho for Chinese food, since it is the type of place I would not normally be able to eat at since they don't serve anything Brian likes! The food was lovely, and there was more than enough! I had crispy chilli beef and Jeri had squid in the same style. We shared some chilli and ginger rice and some salt and pepper chips.

This photo shows some of the lanterns in the restaurant.

Afterwards we had a little wander round town until Jeri had to catch her train back - she had a couple of personal training clients to see later.

I came home and got ready for going to Tesco. It looked a little overcast as I was leaving to go shopping but I thought I'd be OK to walk rather than ask to be picked up and waste time. When I was about halfway there the heavens opened, however and my brolly was not keeping me dry. My phone was getting wet too. When it started thundering and lightning I daren't have my brolly up in case it attracted lightning (Zeph has since told me that that would not happen in town, only if I was in an open field!) Within minutes I was completely drenched to the skin and rivers of water were running along the road. 

Feeling thoroughly wretched, I tried to shelter under a tree in order to message Brian to fetch me. It was hard to use my phone - who knew that raindrops falling on a touchscreen keypad will type in  letters and numbers as they land?! I was forced to put the brolly back up temporarily so I could type. 

Cars whisked past me and unless they went slow, they sent tidal waves of water in my direction. I moved around a corner slightly, which was a mistake as it meant Brian did not see me as he drove past. 

He messaged to say he'd missed me and I moved to a more noticeable place - also a more splashable place! I swear one idiot man in a small work-van looked at me, grinned and put his foot down! Not that I could have got much wetter at that point, but it did not stop me shouting and waving a rude greeting at his van doors as he vanished down the road.

Brian eventually found me and I went home to get changed. I should have called him to pick me up from home in the first place - it would have been quicker!

Eventually we got the shopping done, home and some tea made for Zeph and Bri. I only needed a little snack! 

Glad to be home in the dry now. It is still raining a little - much needed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.