A time for everything

By turnx3

Great white Trillium

Saturday
Last Saturday, I blipped the Toadshade trillium, while out walking at Rowe Woods. This week I bring you the Great white trillium (Trillium grandiflorum), also known as white trillium, white wake-robin, French trille blanc. It is native to eastern North America, from northern Quebec to the southern parts of the United States through the Appalachian Mountains into northernmost Georgia and west to Minnesota. It also thrives on Vancouver Island. I came across these while out biking this afternoon with Roger on the Little Miami trail - in one spot the bank was carpeted with them. We had a good ride - 16 miles, and I improved on my average speed. In the evening we were out at a Cincinnati Symphony concert at Music Hall. The program was Beethoven's Leonore overture, Britten's violin concerto and Nielsen's 4th Symphony, the Inextinguishable - not works I was very familiar with, but enjoyable nonetheless. The Nielsen in particular was very dramatic and exciting, especially in the final movement, which features a "battle" between two sets of timpani! I don't think there'd have been many people nodding off during that work!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.