Field of Gold

I had to make sure to be up on time today as I had a taxi booked for 9.30 AM to take me to a meeting at my Mum's care home to discuss the next step in her care.

I was told the meeting was at 10 AM but when I arrived they said I'd been misinformed and it was 10.30 AM. I had queried this at the time as the initial letter to my Dad had said 10.30, so I went and visited my Mum before the meeting started. I genuinely think this was what Jess, the woman in charge of her care, had intended all along. It went OK fortunately, as Mum only had a brief moment of realising it was me and did not find any need to be unpleasant towards me. She did not chat too much, but said she liked it in the home and that the staff were lovely. 

Her dementia is quite advanced now, and much of what she says makes little sense. 

The reasons for wanting to upgrade her care to the nursing supervision level is because she has more difficulty with feeding herself, yet does not cooperate with anyone who tries to help her. It is the same when it comes to personal care such as washing, dressing, moving her so she does not develop pressure sores and the care needed due to her being doubly incontinent. She becomes violent and abusive, as she did with us before she went into the home. 

They also recognise that Mum has other mental health issues alongside the dementia, which she has had on and off even before. This is being managed with medication, and they are reviewing that too. 

The whole report and form they completed now goes to a panel and they see no reason why they would rule out taking the next step. It will mean her moving to a different unit within the same home. This home was chosen with that in mind, so it would not be necessary for her to go to a different place entirely when this point was reached.

I took this photo whilst waiting for a bus to come home on. The lovely field was directly behind the bus stop and I did not have too long a wait, fortunately!

Now I'm waiting for Bri to come home so I can make mine and Zeph's tea. We are going to Morrison's later, and then there will be rugby on TV!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.