Hot and Muggy

Another day to
hide from the heat and try to
remain cool and calm

~carliewired

Last evening we were treated to the thunderstorm that had been forecast. It came after dark, so we turned off the lights and enjoyed the light show. At bedtime it was still too hot outside to allow us to open windows. The city didn't really cool down until after 4 AM this morning. When I got up to make my coffee, I opened up the house and shut off the A/C. 

It's a grey, humid morning. I was not racing out the door this morning. I took my time over my coffee, then departed about 6:30. Mission Flats seemed a good bet. I was hoping it would be rather quiet on the south shore. 

I found myself in that parade of trucks heading into Mission Flats. The pipeliners are out early too. I drove to the end of the road once I was past all the activity. 

It was quiet at the turnaround. I looked west to the delta of the river and the lake. I looked across the river to the north shore by the airport. I looked back along the road with my mountains in the background. 

The ospreys are still very focused on parenting. The pair was evident and I could hear their calls. 

I headed home with a drive-thru breakfast. I expect to remain at home today. That quilt needs a lot of work. 

We remain under a heat warning. It is a mainly cloudy day with a high expected of 34 C. Once again, we have the threat of a thunderstorm later in the day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.