carliewired

By carliewired

79 F / 26 C

A cooler start with
little smoke and I am so
grateful for this day!

~carliewired

I was up early but really did not want to be venturing very far. I left the house just after 8 to head for McArthur Island Park near home.

There is a cool, crispness in the air. I'm feeling that summer must be over. 

I had forgotten it was Saturday when I drove into the park and stopped by the Butterfly Garden. Lots of cars were arriving to fill up the playing fields with activity. I walked around the flowers, finding it difficult to locate 'perfect' blooms now. I did find some freeloaders who'd spent the night in the flowers. I also noticed that the garden and its walkways were wet. Is the city continuing to water their grass and flower beds when the rest of us are restricted? 

I took a quick look into the slough. It is a definite shade of green. I admired the ducks for their ability to make use of it. 

I drove on to the south side where I could only find one very chunky marmot browsing the pathway. I don't know where the rest could be. 

My surprise this morning was finding a little tent city behind the recreation centre. Fire crews are making this a temporary location.  Those who were up and moving looked pretty tired and some were rather grimy. A big group gathered in one corner for a meeting. Vehicles were starting to move out. I got out of their way. 

I'm home, as usual, with my feet up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.