Blickling Hall

To run or not to run, that was the question.  In the end I ran, but TT did not.  I went the same route as yesterday and it was probably hotter.  The outward leg was ok, but I was very slow on my return.  I got a welcome shower when I ran past a potato field that was being watered, but I then started to wonder where the water had originated. 
 
TT was actually doing some work when I got home.  This has been happening every holiday in the past few years and I do get annoyed that he cannot switch off.  I went and sat in the garden with my book.  It was a changeable kind of a day, one minute boiling hot with bright blue skies, then clouds.  Once TT had finished we made a picnic and headed to a nearby village, where we once stayed on holiday.  We had a wander around, calling into the lovely village shop where I bought some cakes.  We then wandered to what was a lovely pub, but it looked rather unkempt and closed. 
 
We then headed to nearby Blickling Hall, where we had our picnic in the sun, in the lovely walled garden.  I was looking forward to a walk around the formal gardens, but was very disappointed as they were not as lovely as I remember them.  We didn’t bother going in the house, but went for a walk around the wider estate.  The sun disappeared, which made for a more pleasant temperature.  We walked to the mausoleum and then through the woods to the lake.  We ended up having to walk back on ourselves, as they were removing the paraphernalia from the Michael Buble concert and our way was blocked.
 
Our next stop was Baconsthorpe Castle, a favourite of TT’s, but we were very disappointed to find that it was all fenced off with no entry.  We had a quick look around, and watched a heron fishing on the lake, but then headed home to pizza and salad for tea.  Later I had a wee wander around the village and TT watched The Detectorists.
 
This is a view to the Hall from the walled garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.