Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Centre of Hexham

This shot is taken just behind one of the main streets in town. The renovations and reclamation of the land has been anything but Speedy!

I had a busy morning. Julie came to look after Mum. I had a phone consultation with a GP (how much better if she could have seen me to assess my health), when some more tests were recommended. Her plan is fine, but discovering it was like pulling back teeth. (Do you have that expression in the USA?)

Then to see the nurse for my final B12 shot and the blood tests.

Then to Hexham for an eye test. I was keen to have a prescription for reading glasses. I have always removed my varifocals to read, but now the eyes don't seem balanced.

My distance vision is 20/20 so no need to change my main spectacles. The optician is very efficient and chatty. I then had a choice of lovely frames. I started at the end where the prices were £550 and rapidly moved down the line to £150. What do people do who are cash strapped I wonder?

I may have to blip my new specs. I love the colour.

Then home via Aldi.

Margaret (across the road) brought Thomas to see us. He is about to enter year 5 and has grown a lot during Covid. 

Then, the other Marjorie came for the afternoon. She is off to Knock in Ireland for a week. As always we had a good chat.

I've been cooking a large quantity of mince ready to purée for when I'm away and Mum's meals will be in the freezer. 

Perhaps I'm feeling a bit better??

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.