This Milkweed Leaf, It Has a FLAVOR!

I was on my way out of the yard and heading to my walk when I strolled past the milkweed patch and discovered this very popular leaf. Apparently, it has some serious FLAVOR, as it is being munched on by a monarch caterpillar that is about the size of a bus, and two milkweed tussock moth caterpillars, looking like little bits of yarn.

I generally do not touch most creatures bare-handed, and I am innately suspicious of any "fuzzy" looking caterpillars because some of their "fuzz" can cause skin irritation if you touch it. So I took a twig and removed the two milkweed tussock moth cats to another plant. It is a huge milkweed patch and there is plenty of room for all!!!

By the way, the milkweed tussock moths, like monarchs, are toxic because of the things they eat: "Like monarch caterpillars, the bright, contrasting coloration of the milkweed tussock moth caterpillar signals that its body contains an accumulation of toxic cardiac glycosides from the plants it feeds on exclusively. Even more interesting is that these moths also have an organ that emits an ultrasonic sound, serving specifically to warn bats, a primary predator, of their noxious flavor." COOL!!!

My soundtrack song for these three hungry cats and this delectable leaf, just chock full of flavor, is this one: the Ohio Express, with Yummy, Yummy, Yummy! This song (and this group) was a favorite in the late 60s, and I do remember it being played by my big sisters at home when I was tiny. (Additional favorites from that group include 1, 2, 3 Red Light - also recorded by the 1910 Fruitgum Co. - and Mercy.)

P.S. In other, completely unrelated news, my Instagram was hacked again. When I went in to my usual link, I saw a message that my account had been suspended for "not following community guidelines." I'd posted five pictures of sunflowers the day before. (Meanwhile Britney and Madonna are posting T&A pics and get away unscathed, go figure!) So no, if anything nasty was posted on or by my Instagram account, it wasn't me! I wasted three hours on the problem, and got nowhere. It was mind-numbing and frustrating. Having a hacker is like having an account that is possessed, or maybe more like having a bat stuck in your attic. I need an old priest . . . and a young priest! As the Boss might say, time for a rock and roll exorcism! Wish me luck. . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.