Capital adventures

By marchmont

5 secs of fame

Well it was going to be an active morning, a walk round the Braids. But it wasn't. I got bogged down in my laptop while outside it was cold, cold and drizzly. I made it as far as the front drive, where a squirrel had raised an empty pot. I did, however, at lunchtime clean the fridge. And not before time. Some of you may do it monthly or at least on a regular basis. I don't. I should have done it before I went to KL. I didn't but now I have and the biohazard is reduced. I also hoovered and tidied as I was entertaining. 

L came for coffee and we talked choir and reminisced shamelessly about our student days and our early working life, she a student primary and me an aspiring community worker. Suddenly you feel old. 

After she left I scooted up to Mortonhall to get two replacement whitish hydrangeas for A for the wedding. They have blooms unlike the two which have gone over and stopped flowering. A was very pleased.

My evening plans were hijacked slightly by a call with L. Haven't seen her since May last year. We spent a while sorting out when we will see each other. L wanted a concert, classical if possible. We are now booked for The Sixteen in Greyfriars plus a meal at David Bann's. That will be sandwiched between Pink Martini and Pride and Prejudice. I am definitely making up for 2 years lost cultural time. There was more culture as once the long chat to L was finished I watched the end of 'Fake or Fortune'. This was a fortune, but spoiler, provides a huge clue to the competition at the National Gallery. 

The bin men are back, for now, and the clean up has started. Some folk in the street have put out wheelie bins but we are not due to be collected til Thursday. 

And the 5 secs of fame?  My memory of the 3 day week 50 years ago was mentioned on R4 on WATO. Blink and you missed it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.