A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Sheltered

After a day of much needed rain, we’re now experiencing overcast and drizzly skies as the slow moving storm moves away. Everything is soaked, including zinnias and bees. Not a butterfly in sight but I did see a hummer and several house and goldfinches sharing a feeder. We’re all happy for the rain but looking forward to sunshine tomorrow • I circled the veggie garden keeping my sneakers in the wet grass but noticed the deer did not follow the same. Oh, no, the mud revealed their visiting hoof prints, as did the nibbled chard, and runner beans and sunflowers. ‘Tis the season, I suppose. Like chipmunks, squirrels and songbirds, all are hoarding, gathering or bulking up. So does this mean it’s okay if I have that second helping of mashed potatoes? Or another chocolate and butterscotch chip bar we made yesterday? NOT!! • Actually, I think I’d like to be a woodchuck because they add an extra layer of fat before hibernating for the winter. I would be much happier waking up in the spring with a svelte body listening to others complain about the horrible winter they endured then excusing myself to go munch some sweet dandelions • Game 4 tonight. Nervous. My team must win or go home. Can’t say anymore because I don’t want to jinx anything. Go Seattle Storm!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.