Wetlands - Tranquille

I believe that fall
has finally arrived as
it chilled overnight

~carliewired

I slept until 6 this morning, then launched out the door at 6:30 before coffee. I was glad I'd grabbed a jacket on my way out the door. 8 C felt a bit chilly with sandals and capris. Once our overnights fall to single digit temperatures, it no longer feels like summer to me. 

I drove down the hill and made a right at the bottom to go along Ord Road just below my hill. I caught sight of a big horn sheep on the hill above the roadway. I pulled over, put on my flashers and got out with my camera to test my luck. There was just one young ram that I could see. It continued along the fence line moving towards me. I managed a couple of shots. 

I drove on to Tranquille where so many fields have been hayed or are just newly cut. They seemed to attract many Canada geese. They are forming up their squadrons and gleaning in the fields. 

I turned in the driveway of Tranquille Farm to begin the return trip. I looked into the wetlands as the light came up. I'm always surprised by the snags that drift in during high water and are left stranded as the waters recede. One snag straddled the fence completely. 

I stopped overlooking a newly cut field. This could be the second or even the third cut for the season. I had a look at the equipment left at the edge of the field and a look back at Tranquille Farm as the sun hit it. 

My big surprise this morning was finding a coyote in the hay field. It caught my eye because it seemed there was a post in the middle of the hay furrow. I zoomed it to see a coyote standing stock still. Only his head moved. He must have been watching and listening to see if anything moved. 

There was an 'unkindness' of ravens gathered around the same hayfield. I'm not sure what they were after, but there must be something for them there too. 

I picked up some breakfast and a very large coffee on my way home. 
I'm in for the day. I should have a repairman here to look at my oven midmorning. I got word that my flooring installation will be delayed by a week. So A and I can work on a quilt today as a nice break in moving/sorting the house contents. 

We have a sunny day with a high of 25 C. Smoke should not be a feature in our day, thankfully. 

It has been announced that our flags will fly at half mast until dusk on the day of Her Majesty's funeral. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.